CWP Schools Program

The CWP Schools Program is a pilot program designed to assist Prince George’s County Public Schools (PGCPS) with treating stormwater runoff, through the utilization of best management practices (BMPs). This is a collaborative effort between PGCPS and the CWP that will guarantee that the County’s federal stormwater standards are met, while also providing an educational legacy of future generations committed to managing the water quality in our communities.


The school system has selected 18 initial schools in Prince George’s County to be evaluated by the CWP, to receive new, green stormwater retrofits to help with managing untreated runoff from impervious areas, and reduce the impact of sediments and pollution that flows into our natural waterways. Schools will have various types of BMPs, including bio-retention cells, sand filters, swales, etc., installed by local workforce on the outside grounds that will capture and treat previously untreated stormwater.  The initial 18 schools evaluated to participate in the pilot program include a combination of elementary, middle and high schools across Prince George’s County. These schools include:


  • Bond Mill Elementary School
  • Calverton Elementary School
  • Capital Heights Elementary School
  • District Heights Elementary School
  • Frances Scott Key Elementary School
  • Friendly High School
  • Gwynn Park High School
  • High Point High School
  • John Hanson Montessori School
  • Laurel Elementary School
  • Magnolia Elementary School
  • Oxon Hill Middle School
  • Parkdale High School
  • Potomac High School
  • Rosa L. Parks Elementary School
  • Scotchtown Hills Elementary School
  • Templeton Elementary School
  • Walker Mill Middle School



In addition to retrofitting the outside grounds of each school, the program also includes an educational component that will be used as teaching tools to more than 15,000 Prince George’s County students. Select schools will receive instructive signage, educating students about the benefits of managing stormwater runoff and displaying how each installed BMP will perform at each site.


The Clean Water Partnership will continue collaborative efforts with the Prince George’s County Public Schools System, in order to measure the program benefits, and to determine prospects of expanding this opportunity to additional local schools that fit the program’s criteria, for potential projects planned for next summer.


Join the #CWPSchools conversation with @PGCCWP.